Chair Hans Lindblad
Hans is the Director General of the Swedish National Debt Office. He holds a Ph. D in economics, with extensive experience in public management and financial markets. Hans has previously worked as State secretary in the Ministry of Finance and held in senior positions in the Swedish Riksbank and the Ministry of Finance.

Hans Lindblad

Deputy Chair Yvonne Gustafsson
Yvonne is an economist with broad knowledge of government administration as well as experience from several leading positions in government agencies and the Government Offices. Yvonne has been the Director General of the Swedish Agency for Public Management from 2008 to 2014 and of the Swedish National Financial Management Authority from 2003 to 2008. Prior to her appointment to Director General she was a state secretary with responsibility for defense and international trade. Yvonne also has experience from the Budget Department at the Ministry of Finance as well as from several boards and a number of the government’s official inquiries.


Member Annette Alstadsæter
Annette is Professor of Tax Economics at School of Economics and Business, Norwegian University of Life Science. Her research is on tax evasion, tax avoidance, and offshore wealth. She is head of Center for Tax and Behavioral Research (, member of the Norwegian Special Board of Appeal for Petroleum Taxation and of the Nordic Tax Research Council. She has previously co-authored two ESO-reports on the taxation of small businesses in Sweden.

AnnetteAlstadsæter 105 x 85

Member Robert Erikson
Robert is Professor of Sociology at the Swedish Institute for Social Research at Stockholm University. His primary research interests are social stratification, education and health, and particularly how individual and structural factors affect individuals throughout the course of their lives. He is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and a Fellow of the British Academy.


Member Lars Hultkrantz
Lars is a Professor of economics at the Örebro University School of Business. His area of research is public finance in the broadest sense, including transport, the environment, regulation, policy instruments and cost-benefit analysis. He chairs the steering group for the Research School on Public Affairs at Örebro University. He was a member of the ESO from 1994 to 2003.


Member Sylvia Schwaag Serger
Sylvia is Deputy Vice-Chancellor at Lund University where she has a special responsibility for education and internationalisation. Sylvia is a professor in research politics at the School of Economics and Management and has her PhD in economic history from the London School of Economics and Political Science. Her research focuses on innovation, including internationalization, policy and governance.


Member Anna Seim
Anna is Associate Professor of Economics at the Department of Economics, Stockholm University. Her research typically addresses various effects of economic policy and she has studied topics such as the impact of monetary and fiscal policy on wage formation and unemployment, and the relationship between long-run growth and political regimes. Anna was a member of SNS Economic Policy Council 2012 and is a member of the Scientific Council of the Swedish National Debt Office since 2013.

Anna Seim

Member Peter Skogman Thoursie
Peter is Professor in Economics at the Department of Economics, Stockholm University. Peter’s research field is empirical labour economics, e.g., with a focus on how the social insurance system interacts with the labor market, as well as gender differences on the labour market.

The experts attached to the Board are the heads of the Ministry of Finance’s Budget Department, Economic Affairs Department and Tax and Customs Department.